at a loss

My husband was at a complete loss a few days ago when his iPhone mysteriously stopped working. He was rendered completely useless because he felt he had no way to communicate with his employees, he couldn’t instantly respond to clients, he had no phone numbers, no access to his email… his entire life had come to a standstill. I sat back in the living room and watched as he paced back and forth and cursed liked a sailor, and I realized how so many people have become completely dependent on technology that if it fails they don’t know how to function without it. I on the other hand remember quite clearly the days of pre-mobile phones and pre-internet, and luckily for me I was able to help my husband navigate his life.

Everyone laughs at me because I still keep an updated organizer with phone numbers, addresses, birthdays and important information like credit cards, blood type, etc. After my husband’s little meltdown I felt vindicated that even though I have a smartphone, a laptop and I blog, I still have the ability to keep living without any technology. I revel in sending handwritten letters to my friends and family. I actually have a land-line at home with no caller id or voicemail and more often than not, I enjoy running errands and leaving my mobile phone at home. Life keeps on going and we don’t have to constantly be connected in order to enjoy it. We don’t have to be “available” to everyone every second of the day.

That being said, I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and do yourself a favor… leave your mobile phone behind this weekend and just enjoy being with those around you or turn it off and go for walk. I promise you will survive!

Leave a Reply

