Family Rules… so to speak

In the day-to-day goings of the members of this household sometimes the simplest of rules seem to fall between the cracks. I pride myself on looking on the bright side of life, always pointing out the silver lining to my kids and trying to instill in them a love of self, life and family. I always over-hear parents saying don’t do that, don’t touch this, don’t say that, say this, stop slouching, pick up your feet, and on and on… Whatever happened to letting kids be free to find out who they are, what they like, and what they don’t like? Maybe my kid wants to drag her feet when she walks. Maybe my middle child doesn’t have an “inside” voice. Maybe screaming at his older sisters makes my little one feel confident, strong and on their level! Maybe my children don’t want rules that dictate how they should act, because whose to say I’m right?

So, I’ve decided to list some new family rules:

  • Always say the truth
  • Keep your promises
  • Try new things
  • Laugh out loud
  • Say I love you
  • Do your best
  • Be grateful
  • Be kind
  • Be proud
  • Be yourself
  • Remember you are loved
Leave a Reply

