leaving the nest

My incredibly funny, cake baking extraordinaire, heavy accented, beautiful mother has decided to take my two daughters to Miami for 12 days. At first, I was really excited by the thought of 12 days alone (just me and the little man), but now that their flight is a little more than 12 hours away, I’m starting to have second thoughts. I know that they will have the time of their life with my mom. Eating fabulous food, swimming every day, the ocean, botanical gardens, museums, shopping and spending quality time with their “Moni,” but this will be the first time they have ever left home without me and even though I am in need of a break before the school year kicks back into gear… I don’t want them to go. I don’t want to miss a single moment, a giggle, a smile, a first anything.

I guess growing up is always harder for the parents. They even started packing all on their own (see above). I will miss my little angles, miss evening story time, our ritual morning cuddles and the gazillion other little moments we have together everyday and I think their little brother will miss them even more.

One thought on “leaving the nest

  1. I hear ya, sister! Two of mine have flown the nest (and doing marvelously, I might add!); two are in college, two in high school and the rest at home. It is so hard to let go- but when they come back I LOVE hearing about their new adventures and have a personal stake in their successes- 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

