it’s ok mom

So, I lost my cool today and my children witnessed a side of me I thought they (or anyone for that matter) would never see. I proceeded to apologize profusely to my children and explained to them that I am, after all, only human and that I get tired, stressed and overwhelmed just like they do. And even though I’m “suppose” to be equipped with the mental/emotional tools that adults use to keep themselves in check, sometimes you just reach a point where enough is enough.

I felt awful… like I failed my children in some way. My anger wasn’t directed at them in any way, but they were there to witness it and that makes it just as bad. Just when I started to feel like my parenting skills really sucked my oldest daughter turned around and used one of my lines on me… “Mom, it’s ok to get upset, the trick is not to make a habit out of it” and she kissed me on the forehead.

It’s amazing how much my kids teach me about myself everyday. I am so thankful to have them in my life and I know that tomorrow will be a better day.

Leave a Reply

