another year has passed

and you look do different! This morning at the breakfast table I remarked at how my youngest daughter looked older all of a sudden. As if she had grown up overnight. She smiled and ran off to get her backpack and morning snack, and as she ran out the door she looked back and smiled with those beautiful almond eyes. The rest of my day was filled with projects (both business and personal), spending time with my favorite little man and enjoying the incredible weather outside.

When my youngest daughter returned from school she was visibly exhausted. Mostly, from playing and fishing in the hot sun on Memorial Day. She went upstairs to lie down and rest for a while. I unpacked her backpack and there in a small ziploc bag were two photos of my little girl. The first was taken at the beginning of the school year and second was from this past week, and there it was, right in front of me… she was older!

It’s amazing how quickly they change and grow up. I feel happy and sad. My little girl… how I just wanted to keep her bottled up forever. I’m sad because I know I will long for these days, for a time when they were little and wanted to cuddle and be taken care of. Sometimes I feel that being a parent is equally as sad as it is happy.

May 2012

September 2011

 

Leave a Reply

