Re-Introducing the Beastie Boys (MCA)

I know I’m not the only one who grew up listening to the Beastie Boys. I fought for my right to party in high school and felt connected to their music and angst in a way that my parents were connected to Jimmy Hendrix and The Stones. They defined a generation and dropped some of the most iconic hip-hop albums in the 80s and 90s. It wasn’t just the lyrics, but the fusion of punk, hip hop and jazz in a way that I had never heard before.

The passing of Adam Yauch hit me in a way that I could have never imagined. I felt sick to my stomach… like a part of my youth had died. We all new that he had been sick for some time, but the suddenness of his death made everything feel strange. His music is not all that I will remember… his life will live on in his beautiful family, his humanitarian work and in the lives of so many he touched.

So, as my oldest daughter is laid up in bed sick, I thought that this would be the opportune time to pass a torch to a new generation and re-introduce the Beastie Boys to my daughter. We were about to paint her room, because she wanted to step out and have individuality and make something her own. That’s what it’s all about! As we sit back listening to my Beastie Boy records (yeah, you read that right… I still have records and a turn table), I also want her to know that Adam Yauch and the Beastie Boys continue to influence so many musical genres and artists, like the tribute from Coldplay last night.

So play it and play it loud! RIP Adam Yauch and thank you for music, your talent, you humor and your charity… most of all thank you for teaching me that I had to fight for the right to party!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

