Who is the tooth fairy?

20120304-111300.jpgI am so excited that my oldest lost her first front tooth! It’s one of those moments that only happen once and she’ll never look as cute again, because let’s face it when you lose your front tooth at 85 you’re not as cute.

She was so excited that it finally came out and ran upstairs to put her tooth under her pillow for the tooth fairy. Now my job was set into motion… I had one responsibility, to covertly enter her room in the middle of the night to steal the tooth and leave some money in its place. Easy enough, right? Wrong! This is me we’re talking about!

So, night time comes and I put all three kids to bed. I know I have to wait for her to fall to sleep, which takes a while because she is such a light sleeper. I lay on my bed and listen to NPR, waiting for my moment.

My moment comes and goes! That’s right… I fell asleep! Only to be awoken by my seven year old, holding her tooth in her hand, fighting back tears as she says “What does it mean when the tooth fairy doesn’t come for you? Does it mean she doesn’t like me?” My heart sinks to the floor and I immediately feel like the worst mother in the world.

So, I do the only thing I know how to do… I tell her the truth! That I’m the Tooth Fairy and a lousy one, because I fell asleep and forgot to go in and take her tooth. She gives me a big hug and says “It’s okay mom. I thought you were the tooth fairy.” And I realized how truly wonderful she is and every day she teaches me how to be better mom.

My Question: Am I wrong for telling my daughter the truth about the Tooth Fairy? When did you stop telling you kids?

One thought on “Who is the tooth fairy?

  1. We told the truth about Santa and the tooth fairy straight from the beginning to avoid predicaments like this! However, we also taught not to talk about it so as to not to ruin any other children’s ideas about either. When we have a lost tooth, I prepare ahead of time with a little toy and give it at the appropriate time. We call them tooth fairy presents.

Leave a Reply

