I told him that I love him Mom!

Those were the exact words out of my seven year old daughter’s mouth as she walked in the door from school. The little voice in my head screamed “Nooooooooooooooo!”, but the words that came out of my mouth responded with a simple “Honey, why would you say that to a boy?” My daughter proceed to explain to me that she had to say it , because it was true and it was actually how she felt about this boy. My mind raced for a minute and I thought of all the possible scenarios: we could move in the middle of the night to Argentina; I could enroll her in a convent (who cares if were Jewish you’re missing the point); or at the very least, I could homeschool her! Suddenly, I realized I hadn’t spoken or reacted for a couple of minutes and there she was sitting on the floor looking up at me with these amazing blue eyes and I was overwhelmed with a feeling that somewhat resembles nausea and happiness.

So, I say to her “How could you know that you love this boy? Love is a very big word and you should not use it so lightly.” She looked at me as if I was suffering from some sort of dementia and with her angelic little smile she simply said “You just know mom! Love is something you feel and when you feel it, you know.” And just like that she walked away, leaving me somewhat speechless and scared. I guess I never wanted her to know, to grow layers of cynicism, to grow up, but she will and she will learn that life hurts as much as it loves.

 

2 thoughts on “I told him that I love him Mom!

  1. “…we could move in the middle of the night to Argentina; I could enroll her in a convent (who cares if were Jewish you’re missing the point); or at the very least, I could homeschool her!” I’m not a mom, yet, and I bed I would feel exactly the same way!! ha!! I do love that at 7 yrs old she followed her heart!!

Leave a Reply

