“Mom… You need to make some friends!”

That’s what my oldest daughter said to me. More specifically, I need to make friends with the other moms in her class so she can have more play dates. My daughter asked me, “Why can’t you just call up some of the other moms and have a play date with them?” I tried to explain to her that its not that easy, when you get older things change and you make friends in a different way and she simply responded, “Why?”

I thought about this for awhile and I couldn’t come up with an answer. Why had it become so difficult or different to make friends now that I am an adult? Why can’t I just go up to someone, the way my kids approach other kids in the park, and introduce myself and invite them for coffee or a glass of wine? Some part of me feels as if I have been duped by the social networks and their promise off connection and friendship, and that there is no reason that I should simply connect with people online. Think of all the people I could meet when I’m out by myself or with my children.

So, I’m going to take my seven year old daughter’s advice… I’m going to make new friends with other moms, dads and people I meet. Life is too short to simply stick with the small circle of friends I have nurtured throughout the years. My children make new friends and have new experiences every day and just because I’m an adult doesn’t mean I can’t approach my life with the same enthusiasm and curiosity.

My Question: Who wants to be friends? Drinks? Coffee?

Leave a Reply

