The Joy of a Bunk Bed

When we moved into our new home last fall my two daughters decided that they wanted to share a room. Let’s just say that the constant bickering and slamming of doors has been less than ideal, but hey… who am I to stand between sisterly love! To make my life that much easier, they decided that instead of receiving gifts from their grandparents for Christmas they wanted a bunk bed. At first I thought it was a great idea! It would give them so much more room to play and do crafts, but then the bunk bed arrived. Now mind you, this is a beautiful Catalina Bunk Bed from @PotteryBarnKids and it can come apart to form two twin beds later on (probably sooner rather than later), but I found myself struggling every morning to make the top bunk. The last thing I want to do is climb onto a bunk bed at 7:30 in the morning to perform a death-defying balancing act while trying to pull the bedding inch by inch in order to tuck it into the sides!

 

My Question: What is the easiest way to make the bed on the top bunk? (step-by-step instructions would be greatly appreciated)

 

3 thoughts on “The Joy of a Bunk Bed

  1. MsMck,
    As the step mother of two boys with bunk beds I also hated the cirque du soleil balancing act required to make the top bunk so I came up with a very easy solution…I shut the door! 🙂

  2. I think the best solution is to make your beds like they do in Europe.. You have a fitted sheet the pillow cases and you have the Duvet and the Duvet cover.
    All you need to do is shake your Duvet and fold it over and voila…. the beds are always looking nice.

Leave a Reply

